Blogging

#WIPJOY, The Liebster Award, The KOTLC Blogging Tag, and The Realisation That I Am, In Fact, Alive.

I’M ALIVE!!!!!!!!!

I’m super duper sorry for leaving you poor peeps in the lurch. I’ve been so crazy busy, not to mention Camp NaNo has had me in its clutches. I have VBS at my church next week, but hopefully I can get back to posting regularly. I missed you guys!!

But, I decided to catch up on my tags (since they’re fun, and also to give me time to finish organising my vaycay pics, which I took like two million of. #sorrynotsorry. Fort Sumter was so awesome, you guys! How could I not take a jillion pictures?) So, I’ll be doing the Keeper of the Lost Cities Blogging Tag, The Liebster Award, and #WIPJOY for y’all tonight. The lovely Eden also nominated me for Rip It or Ship It, but that will be a whole post of its own. So many characters and so little time.  So here we go!

Mya nominated me for her Keeper of the Lost Cities Blogging Tag. Squee!! Thanks, Mya!!

kotlc-blogging-tag

Le Rules:

  • Thank the blog who nominated you.
  • List the rules.
  • Answer the ten questions about KOTLC that are listed.
  • Nominate 5 people who are KOTLC fans.

Le Questions:

Who is your favorite KOTLC character? If it is Sophie, who is your second favorite?

KEEEEEFFFFFEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! KEEFE IS MY SMOL BABY AND MY FICTIONAL BOYFRIEND, SO YOU BACK OFF, YA HEAR???? HE’S JUST SO BEAUTIFUL AND DORKALICIOUS AND EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

http-%2F%2Fmashable.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2013%2F07%2FJeremy-Renner.gif

What are your KOTLC ships?

TEAM FOSTER-KEEEFFFFEEEE!!!!!! Since Keefe can’t *technically* be my boyfriend, I ship him with Sophie! Ignoring technicalities he is MINE! 

I also ship Biana and Tam, just a smidge. Even Tam reminds me of Nico di Angelo, with the Death Boy vibe, and Biana’s so sweet and innocent, I think they’d be cute.

Which book is your favorite?

Gah, I don’t know. Probably Neverseen or Lodestar.

Which book is your least favorite?

Probably the first. The rest have more action, which I love, and more Keefe, which I love more, so win-win.

Do you like Keefe or Tam better?

giphy.gif

I think I’ve made this clear. ‘Nuff said.

Do you like Biana or Linh better? 

I really don’t know. At first I would have said Linh, since Biana is like a total girly-girl, but then Biana went and fell in love with Iggy and I was like, “I think I underestimated her. Whoever can deal with Iggy is heroic.” So, I’m still indecisive. Guess I’ll have to wait until Nightfall to find out!

Who do you think Sophie’s biological parents are?

You know, I actually don’t have any theories on this. I was sort of considering Kenric, but then Mr. Forkle (RIP) said it wasn’t him, so I left off theorizing.

How many stars would you rate the series (out of five stars)? 

FIVE. IT IS SO GOOD.

Are you excited for Nightfall?

do-you-even-know-what-a-question-is.gif

YES. LODESTAR ENDED ON SUCH A CLIFFHANGER AND I’VE BEEN IN AGONY.

Have you preordered Nightfall yet?

Well, I preordered it for Charis, and I borrow the books from her, so yes?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hehe, the only people I know of who have read these got nominated by Mya… OH OH OH!! Anika, you didn’t! So I nomiate Anika, and anyone else who likes Keeper that I may not know about. Enjoy!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Rebecca from Joy Unspeakable nominated me for the Liebster Award. Thanks, Rebecca!

download (2).jpg

Le Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2. Display the award on your blog.
  3. Provide ten random facts about yourself (optional)
  4. Nominate 5-11 bloggers whom you feel deserved this award and have less than 200 followers.
  5. List these rules.
  6. Inform nominees.

Le Random Facts:

  1. I’m 5′ 7″, more or less.
  2. I’m gluten- and dairy-free.
  3. I’m the oldest of seven.
  4. I have a psychotic three-legged hairless dog.
  5. I’m an ENFP.
  6. I love Star Wars.
  7. I’m typically more right-brained than left-brained.
  8. I’ve danced for seven years.
  9. One of my best friends is a guy.
  10. I’ve *cough* never actually finished a book. Not even to a first draft level.

I nominate…

Eden

Mya

Hope

Eliza

Chloë

Have fun!!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yay, #WIPJOY!

If you haven’t noticed, I love talking about my writing. So what better way to do it than a WIP tag? I’ll be talking about When The Phoenix Calls, my NaNo novel.

Like Charis and Eden, I won’t be doing all of the questions, because dang, that’s a lot of questions for a sleep-deprived girl at eleven PM- when I was writing this. (I was watching Rogue One, I had an excuse, okay?)

dazzle.jpg

Describe your WIP.

Skye Foster has always been a little out of the ordinary. She has the Sight, a blessing and a curse. With the ability to see fantasy creatures, she has noticed that more restless and destructive creatures are appearing on Earth. When she meets an elf by the name of Finnigan Skylark, he tells her the irreplaceable Twilight Crystal, which protects the borders between the land of Eeranthoi and Earth, has been stolen by an unknown criminal. When Finn takes Skye to Eeranthoi, her courage is put to the test as she is forced to flee the kingdom, under false accusations of being the thief. Can Skye and Finn restore peace between Eeranthoi and Earth, or will life as they know it be changed forever?

*cringe* I need a better synopsis.

Describe your MC’s aesthetic in 7 phrases.

images (1).jpg

• kind • loyal • fierce to her enemies • skilled with a dagger • musical • blue-eyed • dreamer •

I’m bad at aesthetics…

WOULD YOU RATHER: Be trapped in your story for a week, or have your antagonist enter your own life for a day?

Oh dear… I’d love to be in my story, but I may be killed in the course of that week, considering Skye and Finn are outcasts at the moment. And if my antagonist, Calvin, came to my home for a day, every girl in town would be following him around. I made him very handsome for a reason, and he’d probably get violent if he had fifty girls tailing him. Both?

Dish about a favorite side character!

FINN. FINN IS MY BABY AND HE’S AMAZING. He’s such a caring and supportive friend to Skye, not to mention gorgeous. AND HIS BEST FRIEND IS THE ANTAGONIST BUT HE DOESN’T KNOW IT. It’s beauty. *cackles evily*

WOULD YOU RATHER: Never publish this WIP, or watch it be adapted into a horrible movie?

Well, the movie wouldn’t be horrible if me or my any of my friends were directing, but that’s besides the point.  I’d really love to publish this WIP, since it’s the story I’ve felt most connected with out of any I’ve written. I’d suffer through the terrible movie and hope more people read the book.

Choose an ideal reading spot, food, drink, and music to go with your WIP.

When The Phoenix Calls is set mostly in Eeranthoi, a very wooded kingdom, so somewhere in the forest, very secluded, would be good for reading. A good drink would probably be tea or hot chocolate, depending on the time of year. I’m not really sure for food, probably chocolate because chocolate is good with everything. I’ve listened to a lot of tobyMac and Britt Nicole while writing this, but that doesn’t seem like a very good type of music to go with this. Maybe classical?

And, because I’m nice, a few snippets for you little lovelies.

I woke up to a pounding sound on my door. “Skye!” I sat up groggily. “What?” I yelled, rubbing my eyes. The door burst open, and Finn bounded in. “Come on, we’ve got to go!” “Where are we going?” I asked, jumping out of bed and throwing my hair in a quick ponytail. “No time! We’ve got to go!” I slipped on my shoes and followed Finn out the door and down the hallway. Finn broke into a run and called, “Follow me!” I had learned to obey first and ask questions later, so I started running after him. He led me down the halls and stairways that Cal had taken us down yesterday, then we passed by the throne room and to a set of towering double doors. Finn pushed them open and we ran out onto a long green lawn in front of the castle. Finn whistled as we ran, and Ara the Pegasus swept down and started cantering beside us. Need a lift?  “Yes please,” Finn panted, and he grabbed her mane and swung himself on. “Come on, Skye!” He held out his hand. Hoping that he wouldn’t let me fall, I grabbed his hand. He pulled with amazing strength, and I found myself on Ara’s back again. She thrust with her wings and shot us up into the sky.

“So what’s the problem?” I asked Finn. “There wasn’t one,” He said, leaning back across Ara’s back. “I just wanted to see how you reacted to the whole ’emergency’ act.” he made air quotes around emergency. “Seriously? You woke me up for no reason?” “Yep,” Finn said. I glared at him, then poked his stomach. “Hey!” he sat up. I laughed. Looking around, I realized how early it was in the morning. The edge of the horizon was glowing with red, orange, and gold, and the sun was an neon pinprick over the sea. “So, since you woke me up so early, what are we going to do?” “I was thinking I could kind of show you around, let you see what you didn’t on the way to the castle,” Finn said, looking off towards the neon pinprick of a sun. “Maia and Rae will be up already, and Alyssa better be, so we can go see them, too.” “Who are they?” I asked. He gave me a mischievous grin. “Oh, you’ll see.”

 

He picked up a sword and said, “I don’t think this is your style.” “No,” I agreed. “Too manly.” He smirked and held out a bow. “Try this. Pull back the string.” I took the bow and almost dislocated my arm trying to pull back the string. “Definitely no,”  Finn laughed and hung up the bow. Our fingers brushed together as he took it from me, and his smile faltered. I could feel my cheeks growing red, and I tried to cover it by saying, “What about this?” I picked up a sheathed knife off of a stand. I pulled off the sheath and pointed the knife at Finn. “Any last words?” I said threateningly. Finn laughed and said, “Maybe. Let’s try this one instead.” He picked up two sheathed daggers and held them out. I sheathed the previous one and unsheathed one of the offered ones. The silver blades were curved, more like a hunting knife then a dagger, and they were covered with etched swirls on the flat. It felt perfectly balanced in my hand, and I mimed stabbing something. “I like it,” I said. “Well, there’s two of them. Can you fight with double daggers?” “Let’s find out,” I said, and handed him the first one I’d tried. “Dagger on dagger?” I said. “I like the way you think,” Finn said, and handed me the other knife. I set the sheathes aside and put one in each hand. “Here, let me help,”  Finn said, and turned the blades so the sharp edge was facing out. “Begin.” Finn held out his blade.  I tried to remember everything I’d ever seen in movies, and I lunged and slashed towards his arm. He raised the knife in defense, and I knocked it out if his grip with my other blade. Finn raised his hands and said, “I think you’ve got this figured out. It’ll be much harder against a sword, but you’re smaller and quicker then most people who use swords, so you should be able to defend yourself just fine.” He bent down to pick up the knife and paused. “You won’t attack me, will you?” “Perish the thought!” “I wish you hadn’t used perish,” he mumbled. I laughed. “Would you help me fasten these to my belt?” “Sure.” He took the knifes from my hands and kneeling, fastened the sheathes to my belt loops, one on either side. “There you go, I think you’re ready for battle.” Finn stood. We were nose-to-nose. He held my gaze for a moment too long, then I turned away, blushing fiercely. Finn cleared his throat and said, “Well, we’d better head towards the ocean, if we want to get there in time to spend a while there. I’ll call Ara when we get outside, okay?” I nodded silently. Finn looked like he wanted to say something more, but apparently thought better of it and turned away. I slid my new knifes into their sheathes and followed him out of the armory.

I used ‘sheathed’ way too much in this paragraph, but I haven’t done any editing, so I’ll be changing it up a bit.

We reappeared at the summit of the mountain, and my jaw dropped. “Wow.” The view was incredible, with a three-sixty panorama of the entire land, bathed in a stunning crimson sunset. I turned a full circle, taking it all in. Finn smirked. “You like it?” “It’s… amazing. Do many people come up here?” “Not as many you’d think. Truthfully, I think they get overwhelmed with it. I love it, but I’m different then all the others.” “Why’s that?” I said, throwing myself on the ground. “My sense of proportion, I guess. I’ve seen more then most elves see in their lifetime. That kind of sets me apart. Like this view, to me, is just a view. It’s an amazing view, nonetheless, but it’s just a view. To everyone else, it’s huge. They can’t comprehend it. They’re so used to their normal, down-to-earth lives that anything out of the ordinary is hard to understand for them. Even my own parents.” He sighed and sat beside me. “Sorry, I’m rambling.” “Oh, no, I like your rambling. It makes sense. They haven’t experienced what you have, so they don’t understand the beauty in it. That’s their loss, not yours.” Finn looked surprised, then grateful. “Do you understand everything?” I shrugged. “Maybe….” Finn laughed and playfully pushed my arm. Then he sobered. “Listen, Skye, there’s, um, something I’ve been wanting to tell you.” He ran his hand through his hair. “I-” He was cut off by a flash of light by our side. Cal and Willow appeared, much in the same way we had done. Cal brushed off his clothes and said, “Hey guys! You ready?” “Am I ever!” I jumped up, pulling Finn with me. I didn’t want to think about what Finn had been about to say to me. I was almost certain I knew what it would be, and the thought made me shiver.

*sigh* I love Finn so much. He’s my baby. It’s so obvious he likes Skye, right? Because that’s the one thing she’s clueless about. (Willow is Calvin’s sister, FYI.)

And there you are!!

Thanks so much for dealing with my disappearance, guys!!! I’ll try to post regularly after this, but I’ll apologize in advance for any skipped post days I may not inform you of. I should be back with Rip It or Ship It soon, so watch out for that!

Which tag did you like the best? 

What do you think of When The Phoenix Calls? 

And the most important question… Who is better, Keefe or Fitz? (The answer is Keefe.) 

bella's-signoff

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “#WIPJOY, The Liebster Award, The KOTLC Blogging Tag, and The Realisation That I Am, In Fact, Alive.

  1. AHHHHH BELLA IS BACK!! Your WIP sounds amazingly cool and FINN SOUNDS LIKE SUCH A SMOL FLUFFY CHARACTER.

    Also: could you do me a huge favor and check in the spam section of your email?? Because I think my Y&D team emails have been going in there (I haven’t sent any recently because of that). If you find them there, could you mark them as “not spam” so that my emails will show up in your inbox??

    Ugh I know that was a really weird comment but I’m trying to get the blog back up and running, and we can’t do that without all you AMAZING CONTRIBUTORS! <33

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KEEFE KEEFE AND ONLY KEEFE. *gasp* Keefe’s my fictional boyfriend, too! AND THANK YOU A MILLION TIMES OVER FOR TAGGING ME BECAUSE I LOVE THIS TAG SO MMMMUUUUCCHH. *dies of excitement*

    Also, I really want to do #WIPJOY, but I’m forcing myself to finish my first draft first. *dies of words and Keefe. Mostly of Keefe*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YOU’RE ALIIIIIVE!!!!! Your WIP sounds as awesome as ever. (I need to beta. I must beta. GIVE IT TO ME.) Thanks for nominating me! I’ll be gone for a week without internet, but as soon as I get back I’ll be sure to do it. I really need to read KotLC, don’t I?…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hmmm…what’s Rip It or Ship It? Do I want to know?
    I’m not really a KotLC kinda girl, but I did enjoy your Liebester questions! Whaddaya know? I’m also roughly 5′ 7″ and I also have six siblings. Though my dog is neither psychotic nor three-legged. 😛
    Why did you not join our cabin??? Or did you, and I just forgot? We’re the WordPress Authoresses, btdubs.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. AWESOME. THE BEST BIRTHDAY PRESENT EVER. Did you hear about the exclusive Barnes and Noble edition of Nightfall? It has the endpages illustrated by Shannon, and a special short story from Keefe’s POV, telling his thoughts on some things, probably including Sophie. (!!!!!!!!!!!) I pre-ordered it for Charis, to complete her set, but I’m making her let me read it. XD The info is on her website. I squealed like a little girl when I saw it!!!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

Have a question or comment? Leave it here, but be sure to keep it clean!

